These forums are now Read Only. If you have an Acrobat question, ask questions and get help from one of our experts.

Issue generating PDFs from MS Office 2003 (Word, Publisher) and Vista

Babyblue7
Answered

First off I'm a rookie with generating PRF's and I occasionally need to make .pdf docs to send to clients, but I recently switched from a laptop using XP/Office 2003 to a Desktop PC using Vista Home Premium/Office 2003.
On my lap top, I could go to File, Print, choose Acrobat Distiller (5.0), and then it will ask where to save/print the file to, etc. and then it creates the .doc or .pub into a .pdf file format for me to send to clients.
I have Adobe Pagemaker 7.0 and I think that's where I have the access to the Acrobat Distiller which is very convenient, and downloaded that to my Desktop, but it doesn't seem to work...any suggestions?
Thanks for your time,
AB

My Product Information:
Acrobat Standard 5.x or older, Windows
Babyblue7
Sorry...PDF's, not PRF's...typo! =)
daka630
Expert
Hi,

Using Acrobat 5 in Vista may well be a/the problem.
(Distiller is installed with Acrobat a part of the Acrobat package).

Adobe wrote:
Acrobat 7.0 and earlier will not support Windows Vista.
[url]http://www.adobe.com/products/acrobat/vistasupport.php[/url]
[url]http://kb.adobe.com/selfservice/viewContent.do?externalId=333780[/url]

Be well...

Be well...

Babyblue7
Well, I Googled it, there was some kind of solution that I tried the other day, and now it's not working for whatever reason...here is what it said:

I've found a workaround for this. I had exactly the same problem using Acrobat 5 with Word 2002 under Vista (but worked fine under XP).

The workaround is to "print to file" and then manually run it through Acrobat Distiller.

This is what I do:

- In Word select "File | Print" and pick the Acrobat Distiller printer. Also check the "Print to file" box. Click "OK".