These forums are now Read Only. If you have an Acrobat question, ask questions and get help from one of our experts.

Word 2003 --> Creating A PDF

clamm

Hi,
I am a relatively savy IT professional trying to troubleshoot why a brochure I created in Word is not identically aligned when the PDF is created.

I will explain in more detail the various tests I ran, but dumbed down entirely I still had the problem. I created a regular word doc (not brochure) to test with.
I put text on the page in Times New Roman Font of various sizes. I also used left/center/right justification and bold/italic.

I save it in Word 2003 and print it on my printer and then open Acrobat 8 and click create PDF using Highest Print quality and print that. When I lay one on top of the other, the words are not positioned in the same spots on the page. The funny thing is that every line is different. One line might be slightly lower, the next lower and to the right.

Any thoughts on what might be happening?

Here is what has failed to work so far.
1) creating pdf from word 2003.
2) creating pdf from acrobat 8(trial version).
3) creating pdf from two open source pdf products (matched acrobat output).
4) Original document had text boxes and some graphics and three columns. I tried removing the graphics, the text boxes, etc.

With the first open source product my logo was all choppy. With Adobe's online creator of PDFs, my logo and other words got chopped off on the right side. With Acrobat, the alignment is off.

Any thoughts?

Thank you,

Colette

gkaiseril
Expert