How to set up a shared review with Acrobat XI

Learn how to do a PDF review or document review using Acrobat XI.

By April 25, 2014


In this infographic, learn how to do a PDF review or document review using either a network folder, web server folder, or SharePoint workspace (Windows only) in Acrobat XI.

How to set up a shared review with Acrobat XI
View transcript

How to set up a shared review with Acrobat XI

Donna BakerApril 25, 2014

  1. Choose Send For Shared Review under the Review panel in the Comment pane.
  2. Choose Automatically collect comments on my own internal server from the dropdown.* Click Next.
  3. Specify your shared reviews location (Network folder, Web server folder, or SharePoint workspace on Windows) and click Next.
  4. Choose Send using Adobe Acrobat.
  5. Choose As a link within the message to reduce the size of your email message and click Next.
  6. For future server use, save a profile with the server location and delivery method and click Next.
  7. Enter the email addresses of the reviewers and modify the subject and message text.
  8. Click Review Deadline and enter a date when comments can no longer be published and click OK. Click Send.
  9. Tracker opens, showing details of the shared review.

* Setting up a shared review using has been discontinued.

Was this tutorial helpful?

Please Log in to provide feedback on this tutorial.

Rate this tutorial

Please Log in to rate this tutorial.


Did you know?

  • You can ask a question and get an answer from one of our experts.
  • You can search our database of over 800 tutorials by product and/or topic.
  • You can leave a comment below for the author of this tutorial.

Products covered:

Acrobat XI

Related topics:

Review and Comment

Top Searches:

Start a PDF review, comment on your mobile device


Lori Kassuba

2, 2015-07-14 14, 2015

Hi Erik Terkelsen,

What version of Acrobat are you using? Do you have all the latest updates installed? Previously there was a syncing issue but it was fixed with the latest updates.


Lori Kassuba

2, 2015-07-14 14, 2015

Hi EJ Rice,

I believe it had a lot to do with accessibility on mobile devices. The newer version of ( can easily be accessed on all sorts of devices but the older version could not.


Erik Terkelsen

7, 2015-07-06 06, 2015

I have nine different PDF’s that were originally copies of the same PDF but with different language-layers active. I have flattened the layers and the files are renamed.

When I send one of these files for e-mail review, it works fine. However, if I try to send any of the other files, I get a message that I can’t since this file has already been sent for review.

It seems like all documents still refer to each other. I have tried to remove all metadata by saving an optimized PDF but I can’t get rid of this information.

Any ideas how to send each of these files with different languages for an e-mail based review?

EJ Rice

12, 2015-04-17 17, 2015

Lori, thanks for letting me know. Do you know why Adobe discontinued the use of This seems like a real limitation for a lot of companies.

Lori Kassuba

12, 2015-04-17 17, 2015

Hi EJ,

Unfortunately no. You can find more details about this here:


EJ Rice

3, 2015-04-16 16, 2015

Does a Dropbox folder count as a web server folder? My company, like a lot of modern startups I presume, doesn’t use shared servers.

Ahmed Naufal

6, 2014-12-20 20, 2014

Thank you Lori, appriciated

Lori Kassuba

9, 2014-12-18 18, 2014

Hi Ahmed Naufal,

There is an Action on the Exchange that can export comments to Excel but you’ll need the Pro. version to use it:


Ahmed Naufal

1, 2014-12-16 16, 2014


Its excellent, i want to know also how to export review comments into excel


Lori Kassuba

1, 2014-10-31 31, 2014

Hi doug,

Do this web folder support the webdav protocol? This blog has additional information on setting this up with a web folder:

The status information is found under View > Tracker and click on Reviews.



4, 2014-10-29 29, 2014

Unfortunately, you don’t mention how this works if one chooses to use their own Web server. No matter what I try, Adobe keeps stating, “The Shared Folder Location provided is not valid. Click OK and check the Status field for more information.”

I have tried several different web based folders and locations, all with full permissions.

BTW, where is this Status field? I don’t know what field Acrobat is referring to?

Lori Kassuba

12, 2014-07-07 07, 2014

Hi Gonzalo Becerra,

Are you referring to how you go about incorporating all your comments back into the original document? If so, roundtripping is only possible with Word and AutoCad files. Here is a tutorial on how to do this with Word files:


Gonzalo Becerra

6, 2014-07-04 04, 2014

Once the steps are performed, we will have a new file named _review.pdf right? once we already receive all the comments/review how can we proceed?

Leave a reply:

Have an urgent question? Post your question to our Ask an Expert forum for a faster response.

Fields marked with * are required.