How to set up a shared review with Acrobat XI

Learn how to do a PDF review or document review using Acrobat XI.

By April 25, 2014

 

In this infographic, learn how to do a PDF review or document review using either a network folder, web server folder, or SharePoint workspace (Windows only) in Acrobat XI.

How to set up a shared review with Acrobat XI
View transcript

How to set up a shared review with Acrobat XI

Donna BakerApril 25, 2014

  1. Choose Send For Shared Review under the Review panel in the Comment pane.
  2. Choose Automatically collect comments on my own internal server from the dropdown.* Click Next.
  3. Specify your shared reviews location (Network folder, Web server folder, or SharePoint workspace on Windows) and click Next.
  4. Choose Send using Adobe Acrobat.
  5. Choose As a link within the message to reduce the size of your email message and click Next.
  6. For future server use, save a profile with the server location and delivery method and click Next.
  7. Enter the email addresses of the reviewers and modify the subject and message text.
  8. Click Review Deadline and enter a date when comments can no longer be published and click OK. Click Send.
  9. Tracker opens, showing details of the shared review.

* Setting up a shared review using Acrobat.com has been discontinued.


Was this tutorial helpful?

Please Log in to provide feedback on this tutorial.

Rate this tutorial

Please Log in to rate this tutorial.

Rating:

Did you know?

  • You can ask a question and get an answer from one of our experts.
  • You can search our database of over 800 tutorials by product and/or topic.
  • You can leave a comment below for the author of this tutorial.

Products covered:

Acrobat XI

Related topics:

Review and Comment

Top Searches:

Start a PDF review, comment on your mobile device

4 comments

EJ Rice

1 month ago

Lori, thanks for letting me know. Do you know why Adobe discontinued the use of Acrobat.com? This seems like a real limitation for a lot of companies.

Lori Kassuba

1 month ago

Hi EJ,

Unfortunately no. You can find more details about this here:
https://answers.acrobatusers.com/Does-Acrobat-Shared-Reviews-support-dropbox-q107123.aspx

Thanks,
Lori

EJ Rice

1 month ago

Does a Dropbox folder count as a web server folder? My company, like a lot of modern startups I presume, doesn’t use shared servers.

Ahmed Naufal

6, 2014-12-20 20, 2014

Thank you Lori, appriciated

Lori Kassuba

9, 2014-12-18 18, 2014

Hi Ahmed Naufal,

There is an Action on the Exchange that can export comments to Excel but you’ll need the Pro. version to use it:
https://acrobatusers.com/assets/uploads/actions/Create_Comment_Summary.pdf

Thanks,
Lori

Ahmed Naufal

1, 2014-12-16 16, 2014

Hi,

Its excellent, i want to know also how to export review comments into excel

Thanks
Ahmed

Lori Kassuba

1, 2014-10-31 31, 2014

Hi doug,

Do this web folder support the webdav protocol? This blog has additional information on setting this up with a web folder:
http://blogs.adobe.com/acrolaw/2014/05/hosting-a-shared-review-an-alternative-to-acrobat-com/

The status information is found under View > Tracker and click on Reviews.

Thanks,
Lori

doug

4, 2014-10-29 29, 2014

Unfortunately, you don’t mention how this works if one chooses to use their own Web server. No matter what I try, Adobe keeps stating, “The Shared Folder Location provided is not valid. Click OK and check the Status field for more information.”

I have tried several different web based folders and locations, all with full permissions.

BTW, where is this Status field? I don’t know what field Acrobat is referring to?

Lori Kassuba

12, 2014-07-07 07, 2014

Hi Gonzalo Becerra,

Are you referring to how you go about incorporating all your comments back into the original document? If so, roundtripping is only possible with Word and AutoCad files. Here is a tutorial on how to do this with Word files:
http://acrobatusers.com/tutorials/how-roundtrip-comments-between-acrobat-and-word

Thanks,
Lori

Gonzalo Becerra

6, 2014-07-04 04, 2014

Once the steps are performed, we will have a new file named _review.pdf right? once we already receive all the comments/review how can we proceed?

Leave a reply:

Have an urgent question? Post your question to our Ask an Expert forum for a faster response.

Fields marked with * are required.